New project – straight rectangular table

Posted: September 8, 2010 in Woodworking
Tags:

I’ve started a new project, the creation of a rectangular table for the toy store.

It’s a pretty straightforward table :

Dimensions: 80 x 220 x 75cm for the top on 4 solid legs (7×7) and with sides (for firmness). I looked at different pieces of wood, but finally decided for (old) french Oak. I think this will be around 10h of work.

The Oak came in pieces of 275 x 22 and an inch thick, so I calculated I needed :

4 for the top, 2 for the legs, and 2 for the sideboards. Making sure I had some spare, I bought 9, putting the cost of this table at 177 euro (ex VAT).

Since the design is so pretty straightforward I didn’t even make a plan. First shift (2,5 hours) I worked on it, I straightened (leaving them at 24mm thickness) and sawed the boards to (rough) measure:

I now have my wood laid out:

8 boards for the top 275×10

12 boards for the legs 80 x 7,2

4 boards for the sides 275 x 10

You can see that I cut the top boards into 2 smaller ones. This is to insure a straight surface; when glueing them together I’ll make sure the natural bend of the wood is mixed (up,down,up, etc…). (photo to be added)

now during the next days, I will be glueing the legs, taking 3 boards and glueing them together. This way by next monday, I will have 4 legs of 7 x 7 (actually a bit more, but that way I can haul them through the machine once more to make sure the fit is perfect).

To be continued next week…

Leave a Reply

